Skip to Main Content


Skip Nav Destination


Ignazio Maria Viola, Ph.D.
Professor of Fluid Mechanics and Bioinspired Engineering, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Deputy Editors

Laura Marimon Giovannetti, Ph.D.
Technical Project Manager, RISE (Research Institute of Sweden), Sweden

Jean-Baptiste R. G. Souppez, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, College of Engineering and Physical Sciences, Aston University, United Kingdom

Associate Editor Aerodynamics

Patrick Bot, Ph.D.
Maître de Conférences (Associate Professor), Institut de Recherche de l'École Navale, France

Associate Editor Hydrodynamics

Jonathan Binns, Ph.D.
Professor of Hydrodynamics & Naval Architecture, University of Tasmania, Australia

Associate Editor Boat Dynamics, Design and Regulations

Karsten Hochkirch, Dr.-Ing.
Head of Department, Fluid Engineering, Maritime Advisory, DNV GL SE, Germany

Editorial Board Members

Tom Allen, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Engineering, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Gavin Allwright
Secretary General, International Windship Association

Yang An, Ph.D.
Researcher, Tsinghua University, China

Nicolas Aubin, Ph.D.
Fluid Dynamics Engineer, Manta5, New Zealand

Benoit Augier, Ph.D.
Associate Researcher, Institut Français de Recherche pour l'Exploitation de la Mer (IFREMER), France

Rodrigo Azcueta, Ph.D.
Founder and Managing Director, Cape Horn Engineering, United Kingdom

Joe Banks, Ph.D.
Lecturer, University of Southampton, United Kingdom

Nigel Barltrop, Ph.D.
Professor, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom

Marco Biancolini, Ph.D.
Professor, University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy

Mario Caponnetto, Ph.D.
Co-founder and Technical Director, Caponnetto Hueber, Spain

Ubaldo Cella, Ph.D.
Independent Consultant, Design Methods, Italy

Vincent Chapin, Ph.D.
Professor of Aerodynamics and Numerical Fluid Mechanics, ISAE-SUPAERO, France

Andrew Claughton
Andy Claughton Naval Architects Ltd., Southampton, United Kingdom

Sandy Day, Ph.D.
Professor of Marine Hydrodynamics, Naval Architecture Ocean and Marine Engineering Department, Strathclyde University, Glasgow, United Kingdom

Jaye Falls, PhD
Assistant Professor, United States Naval Academy, Annapolis, Maryland, US

Claudio Fassardi
Senior Principal Engineer, Jacobs, San Diego, California, US

Martin Fischer, Ph.D.
Co-Design Coordinator, Luna Rossa, Italy

Richard G. J. Flay, Ph.D.
Director of the Yacht Research Unit, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering Department, University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Frederik Gerhardt, Ph.D.
Senior Specialist Aerodynamics, Manoeuvring & Seakeeping, RISE (Research Institute of Sweden), Sweden

Margot G. Gerritsen, Ph.D.
Director of the Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering, Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs, Professor of Energy Resources Engineering, School of Earth, Energy and Environmental Sciences, Stanford University, Stanford, US

Bruno Giuntoli
Composite Structures Applied R&D Engineer, SuMoth Association & Foiling SuMoth Challenge Founder, Senior Researcher HE-SSO, VD, Switzerland

Kai Graf, Ph.D.
Director of the Yacht Research Unit, Professor of Ship Hydrodynamics, University of Applied Science Kiel, Kiel, Germany

Jasper Graham-Jones, Ph.D.
Associate Professor in Mechanical and Marine Engineering, University of Plymouth, United Kingdom

Xavier Guisnel
Engineering lead, VPLP Design, France

Heikki Hansen, Ph.D.
Team Leader, DNV GL, Germany

Peter Heppel
Technology Fellow at Studio Gang Architects, Chicago, US

Boris Horel, Ph.D.
Naval Engineer and Boat Builder, France

Dominic Hudson, Ph.D.
Shell Professor of Ship Safety and Efficiency, University of Southampton, United Kingdom

Aristides Kiprakis, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Bobby Kleinschmit
Naval Architect, Emirates Team New Zealand, New Zealand

Jörn Kröger, Dr.-Ing.
Professor for Fluid Mechanics of Ships and Yacht Design, University of Applied Sciences Kiel, Kiel, Germany

David Le Pelley
Director, Le Pelley Consulting, New Zealand

Paul Miller, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, US Coast Guard Academy, US

Sara Muggiasca, Ph.D.
Assistant professor, Mechanical Department, Politecnico di Milano

Emily Nagel
Director, Triangle Racing, UK

Dimitri Nicolopoulos
Founding Partner, KND Sailing Performance, Spain

Stuart Norris, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Daekyun Oh, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering, National Mokpo Maritime University, South Korea

Tanya Peart, Ph.D.
Fluid Dynamics Engineer, Emirates Team New Zealand, New Zealand

Daniele Peri
Research Engineer, Istituto per le Applicazioni del Calcolo "Mauro Picone", Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Rome, Italy

Patrick Ploé, Ph.D.
Marine Hydrodynamics Engineer, Institut de Recherche de l'École Navale, France

Marc Rabaud, Ph.D.
Professor, University of Paris-Saclay, France

Kiran Ramesh, Ph.D.
Lecturer, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom

Luca Rizzotti
Founder and President, The Foiling Organization, Italy

Matthieu Sacher, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, ENSTA Bretagne, France

Tom Schnackenberg, Ph.D.
North Sails

Riley Schutt, Ph.D.
Innovation, Research & Development Performance Analyst, US Sailing Team, US

Stephen Turnock, Ph.D.
Professor of Maritime Fluid Dynamics, University of Southampton, United Kingdom

Britton Ward
Vice President and Senior Naval Architect, Farr Yacht Design, US

Sofia Werner, Ph.D.
Senior Researcher, RISE (Research Institute of Sweden), Sweden

Close Modal

or Register

Close Modal
Close Modal